Watercolor Wisconsin 2012

December 9, 2012 - April 27, 2013

One of the Racine Art Museum’s most popular shows, Watercolor Wisconsin is a statewide competition organized by the museum annually since 1966. The exhibition takes a contemporary approach, while it emphasizes the possibilities inherent in painting on paper in a wide range of sizes and formats. This year's exhibition features 119 pieces by 86 artists from communities in all corners of Wisconsin.

Of 287 pieces submitted by 163 artists, approximately one-third of the pieces were chosen for this year’s show. Three new works from this year’s competition will be purchased for the Racine Art Museum’s permanent collection, adding to RAM’s holdings of extraordinary Wisconsin artists.

Experts from outside the state jury each annual competition, selecting the works to be included, as well as the awards. Richard A. Born and Jessica J. Caddell chose the 119 pieces that are represented in Watercolor Wisconsin 2012. Born is senior curator at The David and Alfred Smart Museum of Art, The University of Chicago in Chicago, Illinois. During the four decades of his career, Born has supervised the conception, organization, implementation and installation of more than 110 loan, touring, or permanent collection exhibitions. Caddell is executive director at the Freeport Art Museum in Freeport, Illinois. Previously, Caddell served as curator at the Rockford Art Museum in Rockford, Illinois.

Exhibition Catalogue (pdf)
Press Room



Memorial Awards
George Frederiksen Award
Harold E. Hansen, Beekeeper, Jardin du Luxembourg

Carolyn Hays Harvey Award
Patrick Doughman, The Game of Life

Barry Nielsen Award
Harry Wirth, Point of View

First Award
Harry Wirth, Point of View
Second Award
Alice Rossman, Eastlake
Third Award
Patrick Doughman, The Game of Life

Awards of Merit
Jean Crane, Transition
Maxine Nobbe, NYC Tour Goddess
Amy Misurelli Sorensen, Warrior Cock Fighter

Merchandise Awards
Randal Feig, Boy with Cat
Carolyn Gagliardi, Painting with Light
David Jewell, Where Have All My Endorphins Gone?
Pat King, Wing and a Prayer Madeline Martin, ut in eo creatis in salutem
Gene Mihleisen, Untitled
Anne Miotke, Papyrus and Produce
Helen Napier, The Tower
Janet Roberts, The Fortune Teller
Margaret Schumann, The Shore At Last


This exhibition is made possible by: Presenting Sponsors - Karen Johnson Boyd and William B. Boyd, Emile H. Mathis II Estate, in Memory of his Parents: Emil H. and Anna T. Mathis, RAM Society Members, S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc., Windgate Charitable Foundation; Gold Sponsor - Racine United Arts Fund; Silver Sponsors - Elwood Corporation, Osborne and Scekic Family Foundation, Racine Community Foundation, W.T. Walker Group, Inc., Wisconsin Arts Board; Bronze Sponsors – The A.C. Buhler Family, Art Alliance for Contemporary Glass, CliftonLarsonAllen LLP, CNH America LLC, E.C. Styberg Foundation, Inc., Educators Credit Union, In Sink Erator, The Marjorie L. Christiansen Foundation, Midwest Contemporary Glass Art Group, The Norbell Foundation, Real Racine, Robert W. Baird & Co., Runzheimer Foundation, and Wisconsin Public Radio.


Patrick Doughman, Cedarburg
The Game of Life, 2012
Watercolor and egg tempera
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Randal Feig, Madison
Boy with Cat, 2012
Watercolor and acrylic
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Harry Wirth, Salem
Point of View, 2012
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Harold E. Hansen, Hartford
Beekeeper, Jardin du Luxembourg, 2012
Transparent watercolor
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Anne Miotke, Whitefish Bay
Papyrus and Produce, 2012
Watercolor and papyrus
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Alice Rossman, Nashotah
Eastlake, 2012
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Margaret Schumann, North Prairie
The Shore at Last, 2012
Watercolor and ink
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine


Appleton: Gary Hanks; Bayside: Judith Gahn Murphy; Brookfield: Christine Buth-Furness, Julia F. McMurray, Jean Pascek, Janet Roberts; Burlington: David Jewell; Caledonia: Nancy Neider; Cedarburg: Nancy Arcara, Patrick Doughman, Bruce Hustad; Deerfield: Irene Olson; Delafield: Laura Ibbotson; Delavan: Jenny Knavel, Sandra Willard; East Troy: Sandra Kessel; Fontana: Kathy Walsh; Fox Lake: Judith Beyer; Fox Point: Patricia Neibor; Franksville: Sue Horton; Germantown: Mary Boettcher; Glendale: Pat Hidson; Grafton: Jean Crane; Greendale: John Vlaj; Hartford: Harold E. Hansen; Kenosha: Carolyn Gagliardi, Don Hinrichs, Sande Jensen, Diane Levesque, Helen Napier, Amy Misurelli Sorensen, Jean Tenuta, Rebecca Venn, Jil Wilson; Lac du Flambeau: Christine Alfery; Madison: Kathy Armstrong, Randal Feig, Linda Hancock, Madge MacFarlane, Brian McCormick, Cynthia Quinn; Marshfield: Laura Nelke; Mequon: Lois Buley-Wirth, Jeanne Corrao, Jan Effinger, Kathleen Nelson, Kitty Sturrock, Constance Taagen; Milwaukee: Joyce Eesley, Sue Haislmaier, Pat King, Madeline Martin, Gene Mihleisen, Elizabeth Falter Minz, JoAnna Poehlmann, Jerome Smentek, Leslie Vansen, Priscilla Weissenfluh, Pat Zandron; Mount Pleasant: Robert W. Andersen; Muskego: Terry A. Fischer; Nashotah: Alice Rossman; Nekoosa: Thomas Wright; North Prairie: Margaret Schumann; Oconomowoc: Marilu McCartney, Pat Siok; Oshkosh: Joye Moon, Maxine Nobbe; Pleasant Prairie: June Ambro; Racine: Jerrold D. Belland, Rick Berns, Russell Bohn, Karen Brittain, Rosemary Curtin, Doug DeVinny, Deedee Dumont, Mary Dwyer, Lisa Englander, Nancy Greenebaum, Ann Henkes, Glenn Hickson, Suzanne Kadamian, Edwin C. Kalke, Paula Kalke, Barbara Kukla, Ann R. Shaffer, Connie Sharp, Lin Somogyi, Maggie Venn, Sue Wolff; Rubicon: David Bielot; Salem: Harry Wirth; Sheboygan: Gayle Meves; Thiensville: William Davis; Waukesha: Bruce Boeck, Peggy Thurston Farrell; Wausau: Diane Shabino; Wauwatosa: Carolyn Kenney-Carter; Whitefish Bay: Beth Costello, Anne Miotke; Whitewater: Linda Tump; Williams Bay: Joan Franzen, Lynne Railsback