Watercolor Wisconsin 2017

December 10, 2017 - April 21, 2018

One of the museum's most popular shows, Watercolor Wisconsin is a statewide competition organized by the museum annually since 1966. This longrunning, juried exhibition attracts a wide range of artists. Limited only by their materials—aqueous media such as acrylic and watercolor—artists are free to create two-dimensional and three-dimensional works on paper. This year's show features a variety of subjects, from animals, flowers, and landscape to figurative studies and the abstract.

Christina Haglid—Senior Paper Conservator and Manager for the Art Conservation Department at Joel Oppenheimer Gallery, Chicago, Illinois—and Tom Herzberg—a freelance illustrator for over 30 years and longtime member of the U.S. Air Force Art Program, with artwork in the permanent collection of the Pentagon—juried this year's show. Haglid and Herzberg considered 261 works submitted by 148 artists, narrowing down the selection to 104 works by 75 Wisconsin artists.

Exhibition Catalogue
Press Room

First Award
Christine B. Miller, Hi, I’m Mags, I’ll be Your Waitress Today!

Second Award
Lisa Englander, Vessel Series #9

Third Award
Patrick Doughman, Meeting in Chetek
For a Complete List of Winners

Pick-Up of Accepted Works after Exhibition
at RAM's Wustum Museum, 2519 Northwestern Avenue, Racine
Monday, April 23      10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, April 24      10:00 am – 4:00 pm

Carlotta Miller
Towering Over Wheatland, 2017
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Ann Miotke
Outside the Box, 2017
Watercolor and gouache
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Doug DeVinny
Bits and Pieces, 2017
Watercolor on engraving
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Janet Roberts
Miss Katie, 2017
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Jerrold Belland
Memorial Drive #7, 2015
Acrylic and ink
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Regina Baker
Mary, 2016
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Appleton: Gary Hanks; Beaver Dam: Judy Beyer; Brookfield: Jean Pascek, Janet Roberts; Burlington: Gillian Graffy; Cedarburg: Patrick Doughman, Bruce Hustad, Tom Kubala; Delavan: Jenny Knavel, Dennis Markley, Sandra Willard; East Troy: Sandra Kessel; Fontana: Cathy Rocca, Susie Williams; Glendale: Fred Stein; Grafton: Wallis Coffman, Jean Crane; Greendale: John Vlaj; Hartford: Harold E. Hansen; Kenosha: Genevieve Gagliardi-Gerov, Carlotta Miller, John W. Terhardt; Lake Mills: Karen Beal-Crosby; Lake Tomahawk: JoAnn Nock Olsen; Madison: Theresa Drinka, Melissa Enderle, Elizabeth Ivers, Brian McCormick, David Williams; Mequon: Alice Struck; Middleton: Vicki Pierce; Milwaukee: Michael Andrysczyk, Joyce Eesley, Kiefer Ledell, Don Linke, JoAnna Poehlmann, George Ronsholdt; Mount Pleasant: Robert W. Andersen, Sarah Andersen, Eileen Black, Doug DeVinny; Nashotah: Alice Rossman; Oconomowoc: Virgi Driscoll; Oshkosh: Nancy Marks, Maxine Nobbe; Racine: Regina Baker, Jerry Belland, Karen Broman, Lisa Englander, Karen Mathis, James McFarland, Nate Mortensen, Christine Patten, Lance Raichert, Suzanne Schackelman, Phil Schultz, Dina Walker, Kelly Witte; Rubicon: David Bielot; Salem: Harry Wirth; Shorewood: Madeline Martin; Stevens Point: Lois Freeberg-Hagen, Annette Schuh; Thiensville: William Davis, Tom Hovorka; Waterford: Norman Abplanalp, Linda Gerard Dzik; Wausau: Diane Shabino; Wauwatosa: Carolyn Kenny-Carter, Chris Sommerfelt; West Bend: Louise Joyner; Whitefish Bay: Anne Miotke; Whitewater: Christine B. Miller, Linda Tump; Williams Bay: Lynne Railsback

This exhibition is made possible by: Platinum Sponsor - Windgate Charitable Foundation; Diamond Sponsor: Osborne and Scekic Family Foundation; Gold Sponsors - Herzfeld Foundation, Johnson Bank, National Endowment for the Arts, W. T. Walker Group, Inc.; Silver Sponsors - Andis Foundation, Racine Community Foundation, Real Racine, Runzheimer International Ltd., Wisconsin Arts Board; Bronze Sponsors - CNH Industrial, EC Styberg Foundation, Educators Credit Union, In Sink Erator, The Norbell Foundation, Orkney Springs Retreat, Ruud Family Foundation, Southern Connecticut Polymer Clay Guild, United Way of Racine County; Media Sponsor - 88NINE Radio Milwaukee.