Watercolor Wisconsin 2018

December 9, 2018 - April 20, 2019

Now in its 52nd year, it was started in 1966 to honor the depth and breadth of watercolor in the State of Wisconsin. While Watercolor Wisconsin has necessarily changed in certain ways over the years, the core dedication to exploring aqueous media on a paper surface has not been modified. Contemporary artists bring both traditional and experimental approaches to the established guidelines—resulting in a varied and dynamic exhibition even this many years later.

For the 2018, this annual exhibition at Wustum, 254 works by 145 artists were submitted for consideration. Jurors, Chicago area art appraiser Gretchen Burch, and Beth Shadur, Artist-in-Education for the Illinois Arts Council in Chicago, selected 108 pieces by 85 artists. Similar to previous years, RAM Executive Director and Curator of Collections Bruce W. Pepich will be able to use memorial purchase award funds to obtain works from this exhibition to add to RAM’s watercolor holdings. Thanks to generous donors over the years and the ability to use specified funds to acquire work, RAM can count over 150 watercolors by Watercolor Wisconsin participants as part of its venerable works on paper collection.

Exhibition Catalogue
Press Room

Memorial Purchase Awards
Joseph E. Cranley Award
Phil Saxon, Benediction
Terri Gelenian-Wood Award
Karen Brittain, Found
Mary Jo Kaiserlian Award
Leslie Vansen, Endue

First Award
Jean Crane, Dancing Squash Blossoms
Second Award
Katie Musolff, Swirling, Soaring, Flipping, Flying, Twirling, Unfurling, Living, Dying from the River Journal Series
Third Award
Lisa Englander, Vessel Series #10

Awards of Merit
James Hartel, Gamboge
Cary Hunkel, Stripes...and More Stripes
Alice Rossman, Rainier

Merchandise Awards
Kristen Bartel, Desert Rain #1
Karen Beal-Crosby, Posies
Rick Berns, Rollie’s Honor
Karen Brittain, Found
Cynthia Brinich-Langlois, Tidewater Mapping
Lois Freeberg-Hagen, Llanfyllin XI
Bruce Hustad, Garden of Lilies
Diane Levesque, Birdcatcher
Carlotta Miller, Autumn in Barcelona
Anne Miotke, Escanaba Sojourn
Marc Wollman, Iris

Jean Crane, Grafton
Dancing Squash Blossoms, 2018
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Karen Brittain, Racine
Found, 2018
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
James Hartel, Shorewood
Gamboge, 2018
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Carlotta Miller, Kenosha
Autumn in Barcelona, 2018
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Appleton: Gary Hanks; Beaver Dam: Judy Beyer; Brookfield: Julia F. McMurray; Burlington: Jimmy Yanny; Cedarburg: Patrick Doughman, Bruce Hustad; Delavan: Judith Getz Buzzell, Sandra Willard; Egg Harbor: Michael Nitsch; Fox Point: Francisco X. Mora; Franklin: Carol Christ; Glendale: Pat Hidson, Fred Stein; Grafton: Jean Crane; Hartford: Harold E. Hansen; Janesville: Barbara Mathews; Kenosha: James Block, Carolyn Gagliardi, Genevieve Gagliardi-Gerou, Don Hinrichs, Diane Levesque, Carlotta Miller, Dennis Bayuzick; Lake Mills: Amy Arnston, Karen Beal-Crosby; Madison: Elizabeth Sawyer Kelly, Claire Mangasarian, Marcia Smith; Middleton: Michael Kratochwill; Milwaukee: Cynthia Brinich-Langlois, Ney Tait Fraser, Joyce Eesley, Kiefer Ledell, Todd Mrozinski, Valerie Pawlak, JoAnna Poehlmann, Leslie Vansen; Mount Horeb: Peggy Flora Zalucha; Mount Pleasant: Robert W. Andersen; Nashotah: Alice Rossman; Neenah: Kathryn Wedge; North Prairie: Margaret Schumann; Oconomowoc: Virgilyn Driscoll; Oshkosh: William Grieder, Maxine Nobbe; Racine: Regina Baker, Kristen Bartel, Doris Beaudry, Jerry Belland, Richard Berns, Karen Brittain, Caye Christensen, Margo Cuisinier, Lisa Englander, John Falk, Nancy Greenebaum, Ann Henkes, Christopher Johns, Lance Raichert, Phil Saxon, Susan M. Sorenson, Dyan Tishuk, Kelly Witte, Sue Wolff, Marc Wollman; Rubicon: David Bielot; Salem: Missy Isely-Poltrock, Harry Wirth; Shorewood: James Hartel; Shorewood Hills: Cary Hunkel; Stevens Point: Jane Barnard, Lois Freeberg-Hagen; Stoddard: Katie Musolff; Theresa: Nancy Lamers; Waterford: Linda Gerard Dzik, Edith Kubicek; Waterloo: Mary Tilton; Waukesha: Bruce Boeck; Wausau: Diane Shabino; Wauwatosa: Carolyn Simpson, Chris Sommerfelt; Whitefish Bay: Anne Miotke; Whitewater: Christine B. Miller, Linda Tump; and Williams Bay: Lynne Railsback

Watercolor Wisconsin 2018 is supported in part by William A. Guenther in memory of Richard Harrison Guenther as well as:

Platinum Sponsors

Windgate Foundation

Diamond Sponsors
David Charak
Tom and Irene Creecy
Osborne and Scekic Family Foundation
Ruffo Family Foundation, Inc.

Gold Sponsors
Silver Sponsors
A. C. Buhler Family
Evinrude Outboard Motors
Lucy G. Feller
Dorothy MacVicar
Bronze Sponsors
John Cram and Matt Chambers
Barbara Delaney
David and Ellen Easley
Fredrick and Deborah Ganaway
William A. Guenther
Kirsten and Emily Maki Foundation
The Norbell Foundation
Charles H. Patton and Family in Memory of Joan S. Patton
Janna and Dr. Edward Waldeck
Bill and Mary Walker
Media Sponsors