Watercolor Wisconsin 2019

December 8, 2019 - April 18, 2020

Now in its 53rd year, the exhibition was started in 1966 to honor the depth and breadth of watercolor in the State of Wisconsin. While Watercolor Wisconsin has necessarily changed in certain ways over the years, the core dedication to exploring aqueous media on a paper surface has not been modified. Contemporary artists bring both traditional and experimental approaches to the established guidelines—resulting in a varied and dynamic exhibition even this many years later.

For the 2019 show, 262 works by 145 artists were submitted for consideration. Jurors, Lal Bahcecioglu, Manager of Exhibitions and Collections at the Elmhurst Art Museum in Elmhurst, Illinois and Paula Kowalczyk, Associate Vice President, Regional Account Manager for Christie’s in Chicago, selected 106 pieces by 85 artists. Similar to previous years, RAM Executive Director and Curator of Collections Bruce W. Pepich will be able to use memorial purchase award funds to obtain works from this exhibition to add to RAM’s watercolor holdings. Thanks to generous donors over the years and the ability to use specified funds to acquire work, RAM can count over 150 watercolors by Watercolor Wisconsin participants as part of its venerable works on paper collection.

Exhibition Catalogue
Watercolor Wisconsin Family Activity Sheet
Press Room

Memorial Purchase Awards
Alexander W. Cook, Jr. and Joseph E. Cranley Award
Harold E. Hansen, Edinburgh Picturesque Notes
Margaret Morrison Lukow Award
Jerrold Belland, My Last and Final Journal Page
Dale R. Olesen Award
Alice Struck, Shadows Under the Bridge
Vera Roeschen Award
Lois Freeberg-Hagen, Invermoriston

First Award
Christine B. Miller, Mags Menu Says: Veggie-Burgers...Y, Y-Not, Not?!?
Second Award
Sandra Willard, Professor Protreptic Poison Garden
Third Award
Regina Baker, Summer Hair

Awards of Merit
Julie San Felipe, The Crane Wife
JoAnna Poehlmann, The Book of Morels
Lance Raichert, Good Morning

Merchandise Awards
Robert W. Andersen, 256 Small Field Sketches
Doug DeVinny, Jim's Dream #2
Lisa Englander, Vessel Series #11
Lois Freeberg-Hagen, Invermoriston
Harold E. Hansen, Edinburgh Picturesque Notes
Cary Hunkel, Family Circle
Helen Klebesadel, Disappearing Praries I
Barbara Koykkar, Indian Lake Evening
Carlotta Miller, Heading Home
Katie Musolff, Chukar Amongst the Leaves

Appleton: Gary Hanks; Argyle: Sarah Aslakson; Bayside: Judith Murphy; Beloit: Brian Hartmann; Brookfield: Julia Pagenkopf, Jean Pascek; Burlington: Sandra Nowicki; Cedarburg: Patrick Doughman, Tom Kubala; Cudahy: Kari Widor; Delavan: Sandra Willard; East Troy: Sandra Kessel; Fredonia: Katie Musolff; Glendale: Pat Hidson, Ann Tarantino Smith; Grafton: Wallis Coffman, Jean Crane; Greendale: James Hartel; Hartford: Harold E. Hansen; Kenosha: Dennis Bayuzick, Don Hinrichs, Robert Marcella, Carlotta Miller, Sujit Sudhi, Rebecca Venn; Lac du Flambeau: Christine Alfery; Lake Mills: Amy Arntson, Gail Juszczak; Madison: Cary Hunkel, Aletha Jones, Helen Klebesadel, Jack Kloppenburg, Barbara Koykkar, David O. Williams; Mequon: Alice Struck; Middleton: Michael Kratochwill; Milwaukee: Joyce Eesley, Ney Tait Fraser, Steve Horvath, Gene Mihleisen, Kathy Morgenroth, Kathleen Nelson, JoAnna Poehlmann, Adam Stoner, Kiefer Ledell Waterman; Mount Pleasant: Robert W. Andersen, Doug DeVinny; Muskego: Jan Wood; Nashotah: Alice Rossman; Neenah: Kathryn Wedge; New Berlin: Julie San Felipe; North Prairie: Margaret Schumann, Charlene Southworth; Oconomowoc: Virgilyn Dirscoll, Pat Rodell; Pleasant Prairie: Tim Alho; Racine: Regina Baker, Jerrold Belland, Karen Broman, Susan Buhler, Caye Christensen, Deedee Dumont, Lisa Englander, Pat Gilbert, Nancy Greenebaum, Barbara Kukla, John Nowicki, Lance Raichert, Alicia Sala, Sue Smith, Susan M. Sorenson, Kelly Witte; Stevens Point: Lois Freeberg-Hagen; Sturtevant: Jenny Pham; Waterford: Linda Gerard Dzik, Edith Kubicek; Waukesha: Bruce Boeck, Paul Burmeister; Wausau: Diane Shabino; Wauwatosa: Carolyn Simpson; Whitefish Bay: Anne Miotke; Whitewater: Christine B. Miller, Linda Tump; Williams Bay: Lynne Railsback; Wind Lake: Ann Schubert.

Regina Baker
Summer Hair, 2019

Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Doug DeVinny
Jim's Dream #2, 2019

Watercolor on woodcut
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Lois Freeberg-Hagen
Invermoriston, 2019
Watercolor and ink

Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Cary Hunkel
Family Circle, 2018

Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Helen Klebesadel
Disappearing Praries I, 2019

Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Carlotta Miller
Heading Home, 2017

Transparent watercolor
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Katie Musolff
Chukar Amongst the Leaves, 2019

Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

JoAnna Poehlmann
The Book of Morels, 2018
Ink, watercolor, and found objects

Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine


Watercolor Wisconsin 2019 is made possible by:

Platinum Sponsors

Windgate Foundation

Diamond Sponsors
David Charak
Osborne and Scekic Family Foundation
Ruffo Family Foundation, Inc.

Gold Sponsors
Silver Sponsors
A. C. Buhler Family
Evinrude Outboard Motors
Lucy G. Feller
Dorothy MacVicar
Bronze Sponsors
John Cram and Matt Chambers
Barbara Delaney
Andrea and Tony Hauser
Fredrick and Deborah Ganaway
William A. Guenther
Kirsten and Emily Maki Foundation
The Norbell Foundation
Charles H. Patton and Family in Memory of Joan S. Patton


Janna and Dr. Edward Waldeck
Bill and Mary Walker
Media Sponsors
Watercolor Wisconsin Activity Sheet Answer: Watercolor