Watercolor Wisconsin 2016

December 11, 2016 - April 22, 2017

Now in its 50th year, Watercolor Wisconsin continues to attract a wide range of artists from around the state. Limited only by their materials––aqueous media such as acrylic and watercolor––artists are free to create both two dimensional and three dimensional works on paper. This year’s show features a variety of subjects, from animals, flowers, and landscapes to figurative studies and the abstract.

Peter Power—Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Print Media at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago—and Doug Stapleton, Associate Curator of Art with the Illinois State Museum Chicago Gallery, an adjunct faculty in the Interdisciplinary Arts graduate program at Columbia College Chicago, and a visual artist—juried this year’s show. Power and Stapleton considered 272 works submitted by 155 artists, narrowing down the selection to 98 works by 71 Wisconsin artists.

Exhibition Catalogue
Press Room
Larry Beebe and Robert S. Toivonen Award
Edwin C. Kalke, The Last Picture Show I

RuthAnn Pettibone Award
Steve Horvath, Light and Shade

Vera Roeschen Award
Randal Feig, Vineyard, Casablanca Chile

First Award
Steve Horvath, Light and Shade
Second Award
Harry Wirth, Frontier
Third Award
Christina Miller, A Space-Cowboy Adventure... Rocket Rodeo Round-up!!

Virgilyn Driscoll, Acts of War Series #10
Susan Leopold, Pair and a Spare
Robert Marcella, Winter’s Prelude

Dennis Bayuzick, Exercise
James Block, Autumn Ranch
Bruce Boeck, Waterfall
Michael Kratochwill, Liquid Lace
Edith Kubicek, Watering Cans
Carlotta Miller, Buckets of Blooms
Alice Rossman, Lyric
Chris Sommerfelt, Morning Abstracted

Edwin Kalke, Racine
The Last Picture Show I, 2015
Watercolor and ink
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Alice Rossman, Nastotah
Lyric, 2016
Transparent watercolor
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Randal Feig, Madison
Vineyard, Casablanca Chile, 2016
Watercolor and ink
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Harry Wirth, Salem
Frontier, 2016
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Michael Kratochwill, Middleton
Liquid Lace, 2016
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Rebecca Venn, Kenosha
Hot Head, 2016
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine
Chris Sommerfelt, Wauwatosa
Morning Stroll Abstracted, 2014
Photography: Jon Bolton, Racine

Appleton: Gary Hanks; Brookfield; Julia F. McMurray; Burlington: Jimmy Yanny; Cedarburg: Patrick Doughman, Sandra Pape; Franksville: Sue Horton; Fredonia: Tim Day; Glendale: Kathleen Bergstrom; Grafton: Wallis Coffman, Jean Crane; Hales Corners: Betty A. Storey; Hartford: Harold E. Hansen; Hartland: Barbara Sorenson Rambadt; Janesville: Connie Glowacki; Kenosha: Dennis Bayuzick, James Block, Judy Gotta, Sande Jensen, Robert Marcella, Beverly J. Mich, Carlotta Miller, Paula Touhey, Greg Uttech, Rebecca Venn; Madison: Randal Feig, Linda P. Hancock, Doug Haynes, Brian McCormick; Mequon: Kathleen Nelson, Alice Struck; Middleton: Michael Kratochwill; Milwaukee: Michael D. Andrysczyk, Joyce Eesley, Steve Horvath, Matt Kuhlman, Kiefer Ledell, Susan Leopold, JoAnna Poehlmann; Mount Pleasant: Robert W. Andersen; Nashotah: Alice Rossman; Neenah: Kathryn Wedge; New Berlin: Julie San Felipe; Oak Creek: Al Minzlaff; Oconomowoc: Virgilyn Driscoll; Racine: Jerry Belland, Mary Burant, Ellen Cardwell, Lisa Englander, Maureen Fritchen, Christopher Johns, Edwin Kalke, Jeff Kosmala, John Krewal, Karen Mathis, Sharon Mellberg, Lance Raichert, Linda Somogyi, Susan M. Sorenson, Dina Walker, Sue Wolff; Salem:  Harry Wirth; Waterford: Norman Abplanalp, Linda Gerard Dzik, Edith Kubicek; Waukesha: Bruce Boeck; Wausau: Diane Shabino; Wauwatosa: Chris Sommerfelt; Whitefish Bay: Anne Miotke; Whitewater: Christine B. Miller, Linda Tump; Williams Bay: Lynne Railsback

This exhibition is made possible by: Platinum Sponsors - Karen Johnson Boyd and William B. Boyd, SC Johnson, Windgate Charitable Foundation; Diamond Sponsor: Osborne and Scekic Family Foundation; Gold Sponsors - Herzfeld Foundation, Johnson Bank, National Endowment for the Arts, Racine Community Foundation, W. T. Walker Group, Inc.; Silver Sponsors - Andis Foundation, Real Racine, Runzheimer International Ltd., United Way Racine County, Wisconsin Arts Board; Bronze Sponsors - Burlington Graphic Systems, Inc., CNH Industrial, EC Styberg Foundation, Educators Credit Union, In Sink Erator, The Norbell Foundation, Orkney Springs Retreat, Rasmussen Diamonds, Southern Connecticut Polymer Clay Guild, Wisconsin Public Radio